Hi, I'm Suhas. Nice to meet you!

Hi, I’m Suhas from India. I’m an incoming master’s student at Saarland University and have done my bachelors in Electronics and Communication engineering. I’m interested in Robotics, specifically in perception and planning part (though I’m very much new to the whole topic). I have had some experience working on computer vision problems in my bachelors.

I intend to participate in GSOC 2021 and found this project through it. To understand it better, I’m working on exercises present on Robotics Academy and picked up an issue where I thought I might be able to contribute. Test gzclient + vnc + novnc as a replacement of gzweb in RADI I need some help and suggestions in this.

As of now I have manually,

1. Installed x11vnc inside container
  2. Exposed a port 5900 for the container to communicate with x11vnc
  3. Started gzclient from container terminal.
  4. Start x11vnc from container terminal

Now the gzclient can be accessed from outside using novnc.

To dockerise it, I’ll move the installation of x11vnc and expose port to Dockerfile. To start the gzclient and x11vnc, I think I can make changes here

Is this fine? And is this intended as a replacement for gzweb or an additional option? So I have to remove the code starting gzweb server as well.
There’s one more issue, the gzclient is not maximised by default. But it’s possible to control display size by modifying ~/.gazebo/gui.ini

Please let me know if this is the expected approach and also if you have any suggestions. Thanks!

2 Likes

Hi @Suhas-G ,

glad to hear from you. Yes, you are completely right, that is the expected approach.

It would be good to have a performance comparison between current implementation (using gzweb) and the new one (using x11vnc + novnc) in the same computer. That way we would have an estimation for the (hopeful) speedup of the new approach for “world visualization”.